Judging Process

The ASCLA are the industry’s oldest and most prestigious Awards, celebrating 60 years in 2022. The SCLAA is proud to have been hosting these awards for the last 20 years.

Judging of categories, finalists and winners is formally conducted by an expert panel of appointed Industry judges and not by popular vote of membership of the SCLAA. All judges are subject to rigorous standards and must declare if there is any conflict of interest in their allotted categories.

A minimum of 3 judges are selected per category, assessing submissions across areas outlined in the submission criteria for each category.  Each judge’s individual scores are submitted privately to the Chief Judge for collation and review.  In the case of a tie, a judges meeting may occur to further discuss the applications.

The Industry Excellence and Future Leaders categories have an additional interview stage for all those selected as finalists in these categories – these interviews will be booked and conducted from 20th September, and serve to broaden the judges’ understanding of the submissions before a final decision is made.

The identity of the winners and those to receive high commendation awards is kept strictly confidential. The Chief Judge is the only person on the panel aware of the outcome of the judging process until the Commendations and Winners are announced on the night, making it just as exciting for the judging panel as it is for the winners!  Good luck!

Judging Criteria

ASCL Industry Excellence Award

Prestigious Industry award presented to an outstanding individual who has had an impact across the industry or an impact benefitting the industry as a whole and / or across time.

Dedicated to Mike Munns,FAIMM Award Inaugurated 1987

ASCL Supply Chain Management Award

Supply Chain Management (SCM) is the oversight of materials, information, and finances as they move in a process from supplier to manufacturer to wholesaler to retailer to consumer. This award recognises an organisation that can demonstrate significant achievement or improvement within a section or across their entire supply chain.

Dedicated to Doug Beattie Award Inaugurated 1984


ASCL Future Leaders Award

This award provides an Incentive and recognition to an outstanding Supply Chain Industry Future Leader and to encourage and support leadership across the Industry.

Dedicated to Vince Aisthorpe Award inaugurated 2009

ASCL Automation, Robotics or Emerging Technology Award

The supply chain world is changing quickly and physical technology is making a huge impact. This inaugural award recognises that, in addition to data management, significant impact are occurring through devices, robotics, automation, wearables and other emerging physical technologies.

Award Inaugurated 2021

ASCL Training, Education & Development Award

Training, education and development remains a vital part of allowing knowledge to be utilised for new ideas and supply chain improvements to be discovered and then implemented. This award will be presented to a company that can best demonstrate their commitment, application and results of providing training, education and development of their people.

Dedicated to the late Professor Peter Gilmour Award Inaugurated 2002

ASCL International Supply Chain Award

In recognition of global supply chains, the ASCL International supply chain Award is given to a Company, Institution or an Individual that operates internationally. Either: an Australian entity with international impact an international entity with impact on the supply chain industry in Australia; or an Australian company impacting supply chain internationally.

Award inaugurated 2016

ASCL Environmental Excellence Award

ASCL Environmental Excellence Award recognises corporate leadership or projects within our industry contributing to environmental corporate responsibility, the circular economy and/or protecting the environment

Dedicated to Mr Ken Pike, Award Inaugurated 1966

ASCL Big Data, IT & Business Intelligence (BI) AwarD

This award focuses on digital innovations that improves or offers a new way of delivering value to the supply chain using Big Data, IT and BI. Award nominees will demonstrate where applying use of existing or new digital technologies, methodologies or frameworks have provided significant improvements to their management of information and/or their supply chain processes.

Award inaugurated 2021

ASCL Start-up Award

ASCL recognizes that any startup company faces a tough road. This award recognizes those tenacious individuals and companies who push through from inception to success.

Award inaugurated 2021

ASCL Logistics Management Award

The recipient of this Award may stem from nominees for any of the other SCLAA awards, at the judges’ discretion, where the demonstrated achievement, improvement or results have required a logistical approach to improvement or major change to their logistics management.

Award  inaugurated 2016